250th Logo Small03

Having celebrated its 250th Anniversary in 2001,
the Town of Thurmont continues to be a hub
for the activities of northern Frederick County.
 Originally incorporated as the
Town of Mechanicstown, the name was
changed to Thurmont by an act of the
State legislature on January 18, 1894.
This unique part-German, part-French name
appropriately distinguishes Thurmont as the.....

"Gateway to the Mountains"

Thurmont is proud to have been designated in 2005 as
A Main Street Maryland Community
Visit ThurmontFirst.com for Main Street
news and information.