Planning & Zoning Commission


The Thurmont Planning & Zoning Commission is a board of five (5) regular member and one (1) alternate member  who are residents of the Town of Thurmont.  These members are appointed by the Mayor and Board of Commissioners and serve a five(5) year term.   The Commission elects a Chairperson and Vice-chairperson annually.

Once appointed, within six (6) months, members and alternate members shall complete the Maryland Department of Planning Online Training.


The Planning & Zoning Commission meets the fourth Thursday of each month at 7p.m. unless there is no business before the Commission then the Chairman may elect to cancel the meeting.  Meetings at times maybe rescheduled due to holidays.

Meeting Agendas & Videos

Roles of the Commission 

(these roles are set forth in the Zoning Ordinance and The Planning and Zoning Commission Rules of Procedure):

  • Prepare and recommend a comprehensive plan for the Town and Shall review and update the plan as needed at least once every ten years.
  • Advise the Mayor and Board of Commissioners on all matters relating to the orderly planning and growth of the Town.
  • Prepare and recommend amendments to this Ordinance.
  • Review and recommend amendments to the Official Zoning Map.
  • Review and make advisory recommendations to the Board of Zoning Appeals on special exceptions and variances, if a recommendation is requested by the Board of Zoning Appeals.  
  • Review proposed public facilities for consistency with the Comprehensive Plan;
  • Review and decide on Category 1 Site Plans.
  • Review and decide on requests for certain modifications to site plan requirements including parking, landscaping and building design modification;
  • Review and decide on subdivision plats per the Town Subdivision Regulations.
  • Prepare and adopt an annual report.
  • Conduct other activities and duties as set forth in the Zoning Ordinance, or as requested by the Mayor and Board of Commissioners, or as provided for by the Land Use Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland.


Term Expires
Randy Cubbedge, Chairman

Bryant Despeaux

Viktor Kraenbring

James Wilkins

Meredith Wivell

Greg Goodhart, Alternate

Mayor John Kinnaird, Liaison